Small School…Big Possibilities
At St. Al’s School in Bridgetown, big possibilities await the students and families who discover the excellence, innovation, tradition and community that are the hallmarks of our school community.
Parents and students are drawn by St. Al’s small size, strong academic program, and warm, welcoming atmosphere. These create a positive learning environment for children and a comfortable sense of community for their families. Children are nurtured to develop to their spiritual, academic and social potential, learning by experience the values of discipline, responsibility, morality and leadership. Students are guided in these objectives by our dedicated, caring faculty members who are deeply committed to their students' success.
As one of the longest operating Catholic schools on the west side of Cincinnati, St. Al’s has a strong tradition of academic excellence built on a foundation of faith. St. Aloysius Gonzaga parish was founded in 1866 by a group of German Catholics. The first church building was dedicated in 1868 and included a school, church, priest’s residence, and a teacher’s residence. The parish grew through the remainder of the 19th century, and its expansion intensified at the turn of the century with population growth and the extension of streetcar lines into nearby Cheviot. A second church was dedicated in 1914 and the original church was converted into classrooms in 1919. At that time St. Al’s operated a grade school and a commercial school for high school students that eventually closed with the opening of Elder and Seton high schools in 1927. The Sisters of St. Francis from Oldenburg, Indiana, taught and administered at the school and resided in the convent on the parish property. The current school building was built in 1937, and additions were made in the 1940s and 1950s. The opening of nearby parishes and schools helped alleviate crowded classrooms. The latest addition to the school was made in 1996 with the construction of the Monsignor Schmitt Hall gymnasium/multipurpose building. Renovations continue as needed to keep the facility current for 21st century learning. The undercroft of the church was renovated in 2006 into a state-of-the-art library and reading room. The kindergarten was enlarged and renovated in 2010.